Prof.dr.C.I.M.Beenakker from TU Delft visited our department.
Published:2012-03-15 Hit:1879

Delft University of Technology, also known as TU Delft, is the largest and oldest Dutch  public technical university, located in Delft, Netherlands. With eight faculties and numerous research institutes it hosts over 19,000 students, more than 3,300 scientists and more than 2,200 people in the support and management staff.

The university was established on January 8, 1842 by King William II of the Netherlands as a Royal Academy, with the main purpose of training civil servants for the Dutch East Indies. The school rapidly expanded its research and education curriculum, becoming first a Polytechnic School in 1864, Institute of Technology in 1905, and finally gaining full university rights in 1986.

Nobel laureates Jacobus van 't Hoff, Heike Kamerlingh Onnes, and Simon van der Meer have been associated with TU Delft. TU Delft is a member of several university federations including the IDEA League, CESAER, UNITECH and 3TU.

Last Next

Copyright © 2012 Department of Electronic Science & Technology TongJi University  Support:weicheng